Skip to Content
Faculty

Faculty

Faculty

Appointed Faculty

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Joshua Abbott
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
Joshua.K.Abbott@asu.edu
480-965-5528
Rimjhim Aggarwal
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
Rimjhim.Aggarwal@asu.edu
480-965-6680
Datu Buyung Agusdinata
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
Datu.Buyung.Agusdinata@asu.edu
480-965-5738
Marty Anderies
Professor, School of Sustainability
Marty.Anderies@asu.edu
480-965-8712
Sir Jonathan Bate
Foundation Professor of Environmental Humanities, Global Futures Laboratory
Christopher Boone
Dean and Professor, School of Sustainability
Christopher.G.Boone@asu.edu
480-965-2236
Hanna Breetz
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
Hanna.Breetz@asu.edu
480-727-0408
Craig Calhoun
University Professor of Social Sciences, School of Politics and Global Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
craig.calhoun@asu.edu
Arianne Cease
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
acease@asu.edu
Dan Childers
Professor, School of Sustainability
dan.childers@asu.edu
480-965-2320
Scott Cloutier
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
scott.cloutier@asu.edu
Nicole Darnall
Associate Dean and Professor, School of Sustainability
ndarnall@asu.edu
Tyler DesRoches
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
tyler.desroches@asu.edu
Hallie Eakin
Professor, School of Sustainability
hallie.eakin@asu.edu
480 727 7764
Daniel Fischer
Assistant Professor of Sustainability Education, School of Sustainability
daniel.fischer.1@asu.edu
480-965-9622
Michael Hanemann
Julie A. Wrigley Chair in Sustainability, School of Sustainability
Michael.Hanemann@asu.edu
Lee Hartwell
Professor, School of Sustainability
Lee.Hartwell@asu.edu
480-727-0779
Marco Janssen
Professor, School of Sustainability
Marco.Janssen@asu.edu
480-727-7067
Sonja Klinsky
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
Sonja.Klinsky@asu.edu
Kailin Kroetz
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
kkroetz@asu.edu
480-965-4164
Kelli Larson
Professor, School of Sustainability
kelli.larson@asu.edu
Bryan Leonard
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
Bryan.Leonard@asu.edu
Chuan Liao
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
cliao29@asu.edu
David Manuel-Navarrete
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
davidmn@asu.edu
Rob Melnick
Director, International Programs, School of Sustainability
Rob.Melnick@asu.edu
480-965-5233
Nathan Parker
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
ncparker@asu.edu
Theodore Pavlic
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
tpavlic@asu.edu
480-965-2899
Stephanie Pfirman
Professor, School of Sustainability
spfirman@asu.edu
Charles Redman
Founding Director, School of Sustainability
charles.redman@asu.edu
480-965-2923
Osvaldo Sala
Founding Director, Global Drylands Center
Osvaldo.Sala@asu.edu
480-965-4120
Peter Schlosser
Vice President and Vice Provost, Global Futures Laboratory, Arizona State University
schlosser@asu.edu
Michael Schoon
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
michael.schoon@asu.edu
480-965-0919
Cynthia Selin
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
Cynthia.Selin@asu.edu
480-965-4349
Deborah Strumsky
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
dstrumsky@asu.edu
480-727-9411
Billie Turner II
Regents Professor and Gilbert F White Professor of Environment and Society, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Billie.L.Turner@asu.edu
480-965-1535
Sander van der Leeuw
Director, Center for Biosocial Complex Systems, Arizona State University-Sante Fe Institute
vanderle@asu.edu
480-965-6214
Jennifer Vanos
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
jvanos@asu.edu
480-965-6380
Arnim Wiek
Professor, School of Sustainability
arnim.wiek@asu.edu
480-965-2387
Jianguo Wu
Professor, School of Sustainability
Jingle.Wu@asu.edu
480-965-1063

Professors of Practice

George Basile
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
george.basile@asu.edu
480-965-7094
Katharine Batten
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
Katharine.Batten@asu.edu
Peter Byck
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
Peter.Byck@asu.edu
Alex Dehgan
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
alex.dehgan@asu.edu
Gary Dirks
Senior Director, Global Futures Laboratory and LightWorks®
garydirks@asu.edu
480-889-4820
Rob Melnick
Director, International Programs, School of Sustainability
Rob.Melnick@asu.edu
480-965-5233
Kathleen Merrigan
Executive Director, Swette Center for Sustainable Food Systems
Kathleen.Merrigan@asu.edu
James Miller
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
Jim.E.Miller@ASU.edu
Bruno Sarda
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
bruno.sarda@asu.edu
602-321-6037

Lecturers

Shirley-Ann Augustin-Behravesh
Lecturer, School of Sustainability
saugusti@asu.edu
Bjoern Hagen
Assistant Research Professor and Lecturer, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
bhagen1@asu.edu
480-727-5497
Milan Shrestha
Senior Lecturer, School of Sustainability
Milan.Shrestha@asu.edu
480-965-7175

Research Professors

Ivan Ermanoski
Research Professor, School of Sustainability
ivan.ermanoski@asu.edu

Clinical Professors

Katja Brundiers
Assistant Clinical Professor, School of Sustainability
katja.brundiers@asu.edu
480-965-1304
Candice Carr Kelman
Assistant Clinical Professor, School of Sustainability
Candice.Carr.Kelman@asu.edu
480-965-4460
Nalini Chhetri
Clinical Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
Nalini.Chhetri@asu.edu
480-965-3099; 480-727-0745
David Feary
Clinical Professor, School of Sustainability
David.Feary@asu.edu
480-965-9292
Jose Lobo
Clinical Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
jose.lobo@asu.edu
480-965-3747

Faculty

Graduate Faculty

Faculty from other schools who are formally approved to be members and chairs of graduate students’ thesis and dissertation committees.

Braden Allenby
President's Professor and Lincoln Professor of Engineering and Ethics, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Braden.Allenby@asu.edu
480-727-8594
Daniel Bodansky
Foundation Professor of Law, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
Daniel.Bodansky@asu.edu
480-727-8577
Alexandra Brewis-Slade
President's Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
alex.brewis@asu.edu
480-727-9879
Harvey Bryan
Professor, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
harvey.bryan@asu.edu
480-965-6094
Shauna BurnSilver
Assistant Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Shauna.BurnSilver@asu.edu
480-965-7671
Candice Carr Kelman
Assistant Clinical Professor, School of Sustainability
Candice.Carr.Kelman@asu.edu
480-965-4460
Carlos Castillo-Chavez
Regents and Joaquin Bustoz Jr Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
ccchavez@asu.edu
480-965-2115
Mikhail Chester
Associate Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
mchester@asu.edu
Netra Chhetri
Associate Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society
Netra.Chhetri@asu.edu
480-727 0747
Oswald Chong
Associate Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Oswald.Chong@asu.edu
Michael Crow
President, Arizona State University
Michael.Crow@asu.edu
Maria Cruz-Torres
Associate Professor, School of Transborder Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
maria.cruz-torres@asu.edu
480-965-8483
Gary Dirks
Senior Director, Global Futures Laboratory and LightWorks®
garydirks@asu.edu
480-889-4820
Kevin Dooley
Chief Research Scientist, The Sustainability Consortium, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Kevin.Dooley@asu.edu
480-965-6833
Peter Fox
Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
peter.fox@asu.edu
480-965-1734
Nancy Grimm
Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Ecology, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
nbgrimm@asu.edu
480-965-4735
LaDawn Haglund
Associate Professor, Faculty of Justice and Social Inquiry, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
ladawn.haglund@asu.edu
480-965-7083
Arjun Heimsath
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Arjun.Heimsath@asu.edu
480-965-5585
Mark Henderson
Emeritus, Barrett, The Honors College
Mark.Henderson@asu.edu
480-727-1062
Paul Hirt
Professor, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Paul.Hirt@asu.edu
480-727-9084
Kamil Kaloush
Associate Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Kamil.Kaloush@asu.edu
480-965-5509
Darshan Karwat
Assistant Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society
Darshan.Karwat@asu.edu
480-965-0794
Ann Kinzig
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Ann.Kinzig@asu.edu
480-965-6838
Mark Klett
Regents Professor, School of Art, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
mklett@asu.edu
480-965-5367
Alex Mahalov
Dean's Distinguished Professor, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Alex.Mahalov@asu.edu
480-965-0408
Joan McGregor
Professor, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
joan.mcgregor@asu.edu
480-965-5028
Rob Melnick
Director, International Programs, School of Sustainability
Rob.Melnick@asu.edu
480-965-5233
Clark Miller
Associate Director, Consortium for Science, Policy & Outcomes
clark.miller@asu.edu
480-965-1778
Soe Myint
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
soe.myint@asu.edu
480-965-6514
Margaret Nelson
Vice Dean, Barrett, The Honors College
mnelson@asu.edu
480-965-9520
Martin Pasqualetti
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
pasqualetti@asu.edu
480-965-4548
Charles Perrings
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
charles.perrings@asu.edu
480-727-0472
Patrick Phelan
Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
phelan@asu.edu
480-965-1625
K. David Pijawka
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
pijawka@asu.edu
480-727-7319
Beth Polidoro
Associate Professor, School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
Beth.Polidoro@asu.edu
602-543-5686
T. Agami Reddy
SRP Professor of Energy and Environment , The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
reddyta@asu.edu
480-727-7417
Deborah Salon
Assistant Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Deborah.Salon@asu.edu
Daniel Sarewitz
Professor of Science and Society, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Daniel.Sarewitz@asu.edu
480-727-8787
Thomas Seager
Lincoln Fellow of Ethics and Sustainability, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Thomas.Seager@asu.edu
R Shangraw, Jr.
Chief Executive Officer, ASU Enterprise Partners, Arizona State University
rick.shangraw@asu.edu
480-965-7393
Shade Shutters
Research Scientist, Global Security Initiative
shade.shutters@asu.edu
Billie Turner II
Regents Professor and Gilbert F White Professor of Environment and Society, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Billie.L.Turner@asu.edu
480-965-1535
Enrique Vivoni
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
vivoni@asu.edu
480-727-3575
Douglas Webster
Professor, School of Politics and Global Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Douglas.Webster@asu.edu
480-727-0737
Jameson Wetmore
Associate Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society
Jameson.Wetmore@asu.edu
480-727-0750
Christopher Wharton
Assistant Dean of Innovation and Strategic Initiatives, Nutrition Program, School of Nutrition and Health Promotion, College of Health Solutions
christopher.wharton@asu.edu
602-496-1727
Dave White
Deputy Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Dave.White@asu.edu
602-496-0154
Philip White
Associate Professor, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
philip.white.1@asu.edu
602-349-6866
Abigail York
Associate Professor of Governance and Public Policy, Center for Behavior, Institutions and the Environment, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Abigail.York@asu.edu
480-727-6889

Visiting Professors

Ganesh Shivakoti
Adjunct Professor, Agricultural and Natural Resources Management, Asian Institute of Technology

Instructors and Faculty Associates

Mohamed Abdalla
Program Manager, USAID Global Development Research Program
Mohamed.Abdalla@asu.edu
480-727-6982
Brigitte Bavousett
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Brigitte.Bavousett@asu.edu
480-965-5133
Jay Beeks
Instructor, School of Sustainability
jcbeeks@asu.edu
Andrew Bernier
Faculty Associate, School of Sustainability
andrew.bernier@asu.edu
480-727-3088
Mackenzie Boyer
Faculty Associate, School of Sustainability
Mackenzie.Boyer@asu.edu
Dorothy Broomall
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Dorothy.Trippel@asu.edu
Jaleila Brumand
Instructor, School of Sustainability
jaleila.brumand@asu.edu
Rajesh Buch
Director, Sustainability Practice, International Development, Arizona State University
rbuch@asu.edu
480-727-3598
Gillian Clark
Instructional Designer, School of Sustainability
Gillian.Clark@asu.edu
Ryan Cornell
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Ryan.Cornell@asu.edu
Mick Dalrymple
Director, University Sustainability Practices, Arizona State University
Michael.Dalrymple@asu.edu
602-321-7265
Susan Daluddung
Deputy City Manager, City Manager's Office, Peoria, Arizona
sdaluddu@asu.edu
Alycia de Mesa
Sustainability Communications & Storytelling, School of Sustainability
katherinealycia.perry@asu.edu
Lisa Estrada
Sustainability Manager, City of Peoria, Peoria, Arizona
lisa.estrada@asu.edu
Laureano Gherardi
Senior Manager, Global Drylands Center
Laureano.Gherardi@asu.edu
480-727-3726
Leah Gibbons
Instructor, School of Sustainability
leah.gibbons@asu.edu
Marsha Gonzaga
Career Management Associate, School of Sustainability
Marsha.Gonzaga@asu.edu
480-727-6963
Annie Hale
Director, Research and Development for Sustainability Science Education Project, Biodesign Institute
anniehale@asu.edu
480-965-3968
Caroline Harrison
Academic Instructional Professional, Curricular and Academic Programs, School of Sustainability
Caroline.Harrison@asu.edu
480-965-8645
Carrie Herrera Niesen
Faculty Associate, School of Sustainability
carrie.niesen@asu.edu
480-727-9635
Karina Hilton Spiegel
Instructor, School of Sustainability
: khiltonspiegel@asu.edu
Emily Holleran
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Claire Jeffries
Faculty Associate, School of Sustainability
Jennifer Johnson
Instructor, School of Sustainability
jenniferjohnson@thunderbird.asu.edu
John Jung
Instructor, School of Sustainability
John.Jung@asu.edu
Jonathan Kelman
Instructor, School of Sustainability
jonathan.kelman@asu.edu
Monika Ketri
Instructor, School of Sustainability
mkondura@asu.edu
781-288-2037
Auriane Koster
Adjunct Professor, School of Sustainability
drauriane@gmail.com
Denise Kronsteiner
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Denise.Kronsteiner@asu.edu
Alec Linde
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Alec.Linde@asu.edu
Benjamin MacNeille
Instructor, School of Sustainability
bcmacnei@asu.edu
Nancy Mancilla
CEO and Co-Founder, ISOS Group
Nancy.Mancilla@asu.edu
Elizabeth Mayes
Adjunct Faculty, School of Sustainability
Elizabeth.Mayes@asu.edu
Barbara McCutchan
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Barbara.McCutchan@asu.edu
Ignacio Molina
Research Professional, W. P. Carey School of Business
Ignacio.Molina@asu.edu
480-727-0603
Lisa Murphy
Director, Academic Services, School of Sustainability
Lisa.M.Murphy@asu.edu
480-965-7255
Nuri Onat
Instructor, School of Sustainability
nonat@asu.edu
Paul Prosser
Project Partner Liaison, Master of Sustainability Solutions Program
Paul.Prosser@asu.edu
480-965-5040
Christopher Robinson
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Christopher.Charles.Robinson@asu.edu
Caroline Savalle
Assistant Director, Internships & Experiential Education, School of Sustainability
Caroline.Savalle@asu.edu
480-965-5487
Michael Sieng
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Michael.Sieng@asu.edu
Karen Smith
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Karen.Smith.1@asu.edu
Susan Spierre Clark
Research Assistant Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Susan.Spierre@asu.edu
Benjamin Stanley
Postdoctoral Research Associate, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
bwstanley@asu.edu
Michelle Stewart
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Michelle.Pulich.Stewart@asu.edu
Philip Tarrant
Research Data Management Officer, Knowledge Enterprise Development
philip.tarrant@asu.edu
480-727-7860
Colin Tetreault
Instructional Professional, School of Sustainability
colin.tetreault@asu.edu
Tim Trefzer
Sustainability Manager, Georgia World Congress Center Authority
Timothy.Trefzer@asu.edu
Madeline Tyson
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Madeline.Tyson@asu.edu
Sechindra Vallury
PhD, 2019, Sustainability, School of Sustainability
svallur2@asu.edu
Beth Volker
Assistant Director, Undergraduate Academic Services, School of Sustainability
Beth.Volker@asu.edu
480-727-6963
Svenja Wagner
Instructor, School of Sustainability
skwagne1@asu.edu
Allison Weidemann
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Allison.Weidemann@asu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Philip Allsopp
Adjunct Faculty, School of Sustainability
philip.allsopp@asu.edu
Janine Benyus
Co-Founder, Biomimicry 3.8
Luis Bojórquez-Tapia
Investigador Titular "B", Departamento de Ecología de la Biodiversidad, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
bojorquez@ecologia.unam.mx
56-22-89-98
Vijayaraghavan Chariar
Associate Professor, Centre for Rural Development and Technology, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
chariarv@gmail.com
Susanne Grossman-Clarke
Assistant Research Professor, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
sgclarke@pik-potsdam.de
+49-331-288-20728
Colin Harrison
Distinguished Engineer Emeritus, IBM
Carlo Jaeger
Professor, Modeling Social Systems, Potsdam University, Germany
Jeff Mindlin
Adjunct Faculty, School of Sustainability
Meridel Rubenstein
Photographer
Bruno Sarda
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
bruno.sarda@asu.edu
602-321-6037
Han Shi
Adjunct Faculty, School of Sustainability
hanshi@cityu.edu.hk
Shade Shutters
Research Scientist, Global Security Initiative
shade.shutters@asu.edu
Yongsheng Zhang
Senior Research Fellow and Chief Expert on Climate Change and Green Growth, Development Research Center of the State Council, P.R. China