Graduate Students

Doctor of Philosophy

Omaya Ahmad

Omaya Ahmad

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
ohahmad@asu.edu

Expertise

sustainable development; accessibility; capabilities; sustainable transportation; quality of life; equity; social justice; sustainability in the Middle East; global water scarcity and quality; climate change and water; global water policy; human health and climate; urban heat island

Sharon Amani

Sharon Amani

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability

Expertise

food aid; food systems; cash and voucher transfers; local and regional procurement; livelihood strategies; vulnerability; risk mitigation; adaptation; resilience; poverty traps; food security; social-ecological systems; nested systems; institutions; markets

Shirley-Ann Augustin-Behravesh

Shirley-Ann Augustin-Behravesh

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
satab2@asu.edu

Expertise

corporate sustainability; social/environmental enterprise; hybrid organizations; sustainability indexes;industrial standards

Julia Bausch

Julia Bausch

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
jcbausch@asu.edu

Expertise

adaptation and transformation; politics of sustainability; food systems; urban-rural interface; Latin America

Andrew Berardy

Andrew Berardy

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
aberardy@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/andrew-berardy/32/a1/b31

Expertise

veganism; sustainable consumption; behavioral science; international studies

Michael Bernstein

Michael Bernstein

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
  • Research Assistant, Center for Nanotechnology in Society
  • Graduate Student Representative, School of Sustainability, Global Institute of Sustaianbility
Michael.J.Bernstein@asu.edu

Expertise

governance; social-technical systems; nanotechnology; climate change adaptation; human behavior and cognition; project- and problem-based learning; key competencies in sustainability science education

Christina Brelsford

Christina Brelsford

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
christa.brelsford@asu.edu

Expertise

international development; infrastructure; water resources; climate change

Katja Brundiers

Katja Brundiers

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
  • Community-University Liaison, School of Sustainability, Global Institute of Sustainability
katja.brundiers@asu.edu
480-965-1304

Expertise

sustainability science; university-community collaborations; pre-disaster prevention and post-disaster reconstruction and reconciliation; vulnerability; planning and future thinking

Edgar Cardenas

Edgar Cardenas

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
edgar.cardenas.1@asu.edu


Matt Cohen

Matt Cohen

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
mccohen@asu.edu

Expertise

sustainability solution options; participatory research; sustainable urban development; co-benefits to climate change mitigation; food systems

Edward Dee

Edward Dee

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
Edward.Dee@asu.edu

Expertise

My perspective on sustainability is grounded in Diné Life-ways, the sacred invocation Sa'ah Naghai Bik'eh Hozho, translated as journeying inot old age by way of beauty and regeneration. As explained in Navajo, Sa'ah Naghai is the male principle and Bik'eh Hozho is the female counterpart tutelary. This concept places major emphasis on powers of vitality, invoked for their strength and all-encompassing importance in Navajo sandpainting as sources for renewal. My proposed whole system approach in renewable energy development will attempt to follow a similar "horizontal" model that offers renewal and balance, in accordance with Diné philosophy and Fundamental Law.


Nonso Emordi

Nonso Emordi

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability


Ignacio Fernandez

Ignacio Fernandez

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
  • Director, Ecomabi Foundation
ignacio.fernandez@asu.edu
540-353-0105
http://www.ecomabi.cl

Expertise

urban ecology; restoration ecology; landscape ecology; ecosystem services

Felicia French

Felicia French

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
felicia.french@asu.edu


John Harlow

John Harlow

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
  • M.A. 2010, School of Sustainability
john.harlow@asu.edu


Mindy Kimball

Mindy Kimball

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
Mindy.Kimball@asu.edu
http://www.mindyisfreezing.blogspot.com

Expertise

life-cycle assessment of urban infrastructure systems; national security implications of climate change

Joe Knott

Joe Knott

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
Joseph.Knott@asu.edu

Expertise

sustainability

Dhara Kothavala

Dhara Kothavala

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability


Robert Kutter

Robert Kutter

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustaianbility
robert.kutter@asu.edu

Expertise

sustainable development; water, sanitation, and hygiene; participatory approaches; empowerment; appropriate technology

Christopher Kuzdas

Christopher Kuzdas

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
christopher.kuzdas@asu.edu

Expertise

strategic planning for sustainable natural resource governance; participatory and transformative research designs and implementation strategies; integrated water governance analysis and sustainability assessment; water conflict assessment; strategic science-society partnerships for resource management

Ashwina Mahanti

Ashwina Mahanti

  • Ph.D.Student, School of Sustainability
amahanti@asu.edu

Expertise

climate change adaptation

Scott McClintock

Scott McClintock

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
scott.mcclintock@asu.edu

Expertise

communication for sustainability

Christy Mercer

Christy Mercer

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
clmercer@asu.edu

Expertise

growth of Sun Corridor megapolitan; socio-ecological systems; water supply; vulnerability

Sheryl Musgrove

Sheryl Musgrove

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
slmusgrove@gmail.com

Expertise

international development; human rights; environmental justice; social justice

Scott Norby-Cedillo

Scott Norby-Cedillo

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
  • IGERT in Urban Ecology Fellow, School of Sustainability
norby@asu.edu
480-727-6963

Expertise

enviromental fluid dynamics; air quality monitoring

Daniel Nzengya

Daniel Nzengya

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
dnzengya@asu.edu

Expertise

global environmental change; water resources management; environmental sustainability; decision-making; human response

Dan O

Dan O'Neill

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
  • General Manager, Sustainability Solutions Services, Walton Sustainability Solutions Initiatives
  • Member, Board of Trustees, Childsplay
  • Member, Board of Directors and Officers, Arizona MultiBank
dan.oneill@asu.edu
480-965-9666

Expertise

sustainability innovation; entrepreneurship

Aura Ontiveros

Aura Ontiveros

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
Aura.Ontiveros@asu.edu

Expertise

bacterial treatment of polluted water; effects of urbanization on arbuscular mycorrhiza fungi

Sandra Rodegher

Sandra Rodegher

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
  • Graduate Research Assistant, School of Sustainability
Sandra.Rodegher@asu.edu


Cathy Rubinos

Cathy Rubinos

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
Cathy.Rubinos@asu.edu


Michael Sieng

Michael Sieng

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
Michael.Sieng@asu.edu

Expertise

supply chain management; life cycle assessment; youth development; program evaluation; southeast Asia; green marketing

Jared Stoltzfus

Jared Stoltzfus

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
Jared.Stoltzfus@asu.edu


Vairavan Subramanian

Vairavan Subramanian

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
vee.subramanian@asu.edu

Expertise

life cycle assessment; dynamic system modeling; uncertainties and variabilities in life cycle assessment; greenhouse gas modeling; product category rules and environmental product declarations

Craig Thomas

Craig Thomas

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
cfthomas@asu.edu


Madeline Tyson

Madeline Tyson

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
Madeline.Tyson@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/madeline-tyson/15/777/44a


Benjamin Warner

Benjamin Warner

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
bpwarner@asu.edu

Expertise

human adaptation to ecological change; water allocation policy; water distribution infrastructure; agent-based modeling; sustainability education assessment and policy

Lauren Withycombe Keeler

Lauren Withycombe Keeler

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
Lauren.Withycombe@asu.edu

Expertise

sustainability education; sustainability competencies; future thinking and anticipation; scenario development; participatory research and stakeholder engagement; sustainability transitions

Christina Wong

Christina Wong

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
cpwong@asu.edu

Expertise

ecosystem services; urbanization; water resources management

Mark Wood

Mark Wood

  • Ph.D. Candidate, School of Sustainability
mark.wood@asu.edu

Expertise

sustainability in business; sustainable entrepreneurship and innovation; sustainable education and educational organization; sustainable facilities; sustainable cities; sustainable urban and regional development; design and design thinking in organizations; university-business-government collaboration

David Yu

David Yu

  • Ph.D. Student, School of Sustainability
davidjae@asu.edu

Expertise

robustness of social-ecological systems; collective action and the commons


Count: 40

Master of Arts

Kelsey DeVleer

Kelsey DeVleer

  • M.A. Student, School of Sustainability
kdevleer@asu.edu

Expertise

behaviors and perceptions of sustainability; modified behaviors and perceptions; sustainable lifestyles

Booyoung Kim

Booyoung Kim

  • M.A. Student, School of Sustainability
Booyoung.Kim@asu.edu

Expertise

agriculture; food systems; resilience-based systems thinking

Anna Krithis

Anna Krithis

  • M.A. Student, School of Sustainability
akrithis@asu.edu

Expertise

food systems; local food systems; integrating small produces into supply chain and community food security

Laurel Kruke

Laurel Kruke

  • M.A. Student, School of Sustainability
Laurel.Kruke@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/laurel-kruke/6/333/305

Expertise

sustainability education; behavioral change; communicating issues and solutions; K-12 education

Deborah Namugayi

  • M.A. Student, School of Sustainabilty
Deborah.Namugayi@asu.edu

Expertise

behavioral change; sustainable food initiatives

Andrea Nemer-Soto

Andrea Nemer-Soto

  • M.A. Student, School of Sustainability
Andrea.Nemer-Soto@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/andrea-nemer-soto/13/594/258/en

Expertise

corporate sustainability; life cycle assessment; supply chain engagement; green business practices; sustainable consumer products

Natalia Rodriguez

  • M.A. Student, School of Sustainability
Natalia.Rodriguez@asu.edu

Expertise

food systems; human dimensions of climate change; adaptation; Latin America

Katherine Thompson-Ballentine

Katherine Thompson-Ballentine

  • M.A. Student, School of Sustainability
Katherine.M.Thompson@asu.edu

Expertise

food systems; human rights; climate change; rural adaptation


Count: 8

Master of Science

Yoshi Budiyanto

Yoshi Budiyanto

  • M.S. Student, School of Sustainability
yoshi.b@asu.edu

Expertise

adoption of technology; resource management (water, energy, and agriculture)

Patricia Garland

Patricia Garland

  • M.S. Student, School of Sustainability
Patricia.Garland@asu.edu


Benjamin MacNeille

Benjamin MacNeille

  • M.S. Student, School of Sustainability
bcmacnei@asu.edu

Expertise

environmental systems

Andrew McIntyre

Andrew McIntyre

  • M.S. Student, School of Sustaianbility
Andrew.McIntryre@asu.edu

Expertise

urban planning; resource management; water

Megan Waldock

Megan Waldock

  • M.S. Student, School of Sustainability
mwaldock@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/megan-waldock/62/b37/6a6

Expertise

energy; materials; technology; international development; water quality

Master of Sustainable Solutions

Ryan Anderson

Ryan Anderson

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
rcander8@asu.edu


Megan Barry

Megan Barry

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
mebarry@asu.edu

Expertise

international development; communication and engagement; public health; equity; international climate policy and planning; cultural transformation;

Tamsin Connell

Tamsin Connell

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
tlconnel@asu.edu


Melissa Davidson

Melissa Davidson

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Melissa.J.Davidson@asu.edu

Expertise

urban watersheds; water conservation and policy

Sarah-Laura Dolins

Sarah-Laura Dolins

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
sigma.dolins@asu.edu

Expertise

megacity urbanization and sustainability problems; food security; building and housing structures and design

David Faught

David Faught

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
dfaught@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/in/davidefaught/


Kayce Flowers

Kayce Flowers

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
kayce.flowers@asu.edu

Expertise

food sustainability; corporate responsibility; urban planning

Aisling Force

Aisling Force

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Aisling.Force@asu.edu

Expertise

international development with focus on Central America; social, culture, and economic factors; changing behaviors and standards

Geoff Goodwin

Geoff Goodwin

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
geogoodwin@aol.com

Expertise

industrial agriculture; public affairs and policy; communications

Parker Helble

Parker Helble

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Parker.Helble@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/parker-helble-eit/60/895/83

Expertise

sustainable development; renewable energy; alternative fuels

Jaimi Inskeep

Jaimi Inskeep

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
jinskeep@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/in/jaimiinskeep


Kimberly Kruse

Kimberly Kruse

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustaianbility
kkruse3@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/in/kkruse

Expertise

international development; corporate social responsibility; policy reform

Andrew Lane

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
aslane1@asu.edu
http://www.cptplanet.com

Expertise

zero waste; responsible water use; green transportation; green construction; anti climate change

Collin Marshall

Collin Marshall

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Collin.Marshall@asu.edu


Michael Moreau

Michael Moreau

  • Project Manager, Sustainability Solutions Services, Walton Sustainability Solutions Initiatives
  • MSUS Student, School of Sustaianbiltiy
mjmoreau@asu.edu

Expertise

coastal development; tourism; marine ecology; sustainable development; energy efficiency;' innovation; technology; business case for sustainability

Van Patterson

Van Patterson

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Van.Patterson@asu.edu

Expertise

sustainable agriculture; consumer behavior; species and habitat conservation; indigenous knowledge systems

Paul Prosser

Paul Prosser

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Paul.Prosser@asu.edu

Expertise

language of business in sustainable enterprise; sustainable architecture; biomimicry

Christopher Robinson

Christopher Robinson

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Christopher.Charles.Robinson@asu.edu

Expertise

international development; Chinese language and culture; decision making and collective action; sustainable enterprises; food systems; sustainable livelihoods

Alex Rogers

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Alex.Rogers@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/in/alexrogers67/


Robert Sawyer

Robert Sawyer

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
R.Sawyer@asu.edu

Expertise

political ecology; natural resources management; public policy

Tara Simo

Tara Simo

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Tara.Simo@asu.edu

Expertise

decision making; strategic planning; policy administration; how values, goals and missions of organizations work in cohesion or in despair with sustainability principles and goals

Andy Stein

Andy Stein

  • Project Manager, Sustainability Solutions Services, Walton Sustainability Solutions Initiatives
  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
abstein@asu.edu


Chelsi Tryon

Chelsi Tryon

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Chelsi.Tryon@asu.edu
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/chelsi-tryon/43/a41/188

Expertise

sustainability

Sam Tyler

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
tyler.sam@asu.edu

Expertise

green business practices; emerging technologies; innovation; entrepreneurship

Eric Vahid

Eric Vahid

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
Eric.Vahid@asu.edu


Jessica Welch

Jessica Welch

  • MSUS Student, School of Sustainability
jlwelch4@asu.edu

Expertise

food policy; water policy; food systems; sustainable agriculture; environmental policy; public policy; natural resource management


Count: 26


mission

Established in 2006, the School of Sustainability’s mission is to educate a new generation of scholars and practitioners and create innovative modes of scholarship by bringing together people from multiple disciplines, leaders, and stakeholders to develop practical solutions to the most pressing sustainability challenges.

 

About Our School »

What is Sustainability? »